Federal Holidays in The USA

A federal holiday is a holiday which has received recognition by the US government. Every year during these holidays federal offices are closed and employees are given paid time off. In 1870 he original federal holidays were: New Year’s Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas.  George Washington’s birthday was added to the list in 1880. In 1888 and 1894 Memorial Day which was then called decoration day was created along with Labor Day. There have been other days which have been proposed to become federal holidays but generally receive opposition and become difficult to be recognized at the state level.


2017 Holidays 
DateFederal Holidays
Monday, January 2*New Year’s Day
Monday, January 16Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Monday, February 20**Washington’s Birthday
Monday, May 29Memorial Day
Tuesday, July 4Independence Day
Monday, September 4Labor Day
Monday, October 9Columbus Day
Friday, November 10***Veterans Day
Thursday, November 23Thanksgiving Day
Monday, December 25Christmas Day